Kiwanis Motto: Serving the Children of the World
arrow Home
arrow Kiwanigram
arrow Officers
arrow Committees
arrow Members
arrow Club Directory
arrow Club History
arrow Eliminate Project
arrow Eliminate Video
arrow Links
arrow Calendar
arrow Contact Us
arrow Facebook Page
arrow Photo Page
arrow Forms & Reports
arrow TX-OK District
arrow Pancake Day '17
arrow One Day Video
left-hand menu
C L U B     O F F I C E R S
Mark Hoover
Jamie Breed
Ken Poynor, Vice-President
Kelly Jones, Vice-President
Lew Lewis, Vice-President
Randy Williams
Ricky Brown/Tim Adcock
Faye Dodson
Henry McGinty
Kimberley Cole
President Elect
Immediate Past President
Assistant Secretary
Foundation Adviser

Cynthia Laster
Gary Poynor
John Snapp
Marty Anderson
Ashley Larry
Christine Curtis-Carr
Pam McGrew
John Ruiz
Brice West
Edith Smith
  • During the year, the President's goal of opening prayer participation was met with 48 different Kiwanis members leading the group, thus paying homage to the first permanent object of KI: to give primacy to the human and spiritual, rather than to the material values of life.
  • The club lost three long serving members to death: Henry McGinty, Assistant Secretary; Van Boozer; and Ricki Brown, Treasurer. They will be missed!
  • Membership for the year began with 100 and ended with 102. Fourteen new members were added and twelve members were dropped. Eight of the new members joined Club Satellite.
  • Club Satellite continued to grow in membership ending the year with 23 members. The club was very active. They collected toothbrushes and coats for school children, participated with the Boys & Girls Club on a Christmas float for the city's Christmas Parade, helped a Dyess family during the holidays, assisted Division 35 in presenting its Magic Show to raise funds for the Division's Hendrick Hospital goal, collected school supplies for the start of school, and took charge of and presented the annual Career & Technology program in May. Club Satellite is working on, with Board approval, starting a Key Club for high school students to be based at TSTC.
  • On April 2, 2014, Kiwanis Club of Abilene became a Model Club participant in the KI Project Eliminate program, becoming the first club in Division 35 to do so. The goal is $71,250 over a five year period. Seven members have become Walter Zeller Fellows having paid $1,250 over a two year period or less: Nancy Miller, Mark Hoover, Cynthia Laster, Tim Adcock, Price Brock, Jack Harkins, and Gary Poynor. Thirteen members are pledged Zeller contributors and two members are model club members. Eight additional members have made contributions. To date, dollars paid toward the goal is $20,456.60 with 29% of the goal met and 30% of club members participating.
  • Kiwanis Club of Abilene's Bylaws were amended and updated to conform with KI mandated changes. Youth Protection Training was accomplished with the membership. A Club Orientation program was done for new members.
  • The Club's Kiwanigram newsletter won First place in the Large Club Division at the Texas-Oklahoma District Convention in Midwest City, Oklahoma in August. Congratulations to Brandon Carr, club newsletter editor. The Club also won First place in the Large Club Division for its website. Congratulations to Charles Kirkpatrick, club webmaster.
  • Other accomplishments for the year: Co-hosted the T-O Governor, Bill Rauhauser, visit to Abilene with 23 club members in attendance. Selected and honored a Sophomore of the year. Presented three Spiritual Aims programs. Participated in the Division 35 Prayer Breakfast that honored the Layperson of the Year for the Division who was Roy Dent, a member of our club. Had seven members attend the annual T-O District Convention. During the year, had musical programs, community and state awareness programs, service club programs, and programs of general interest. Continued member volunteer service with Western Heritage, Texas State 4-H Horse Show, West Texas Fair & Rodeo, See by Three Program, reading to students at Reagan Elementary School, and building ramps.
  • Committees responsible for distributing Service money, referred to as Pancake Dollars, did an excellent job during the year. The Agriculture Committee - $,4300, the Boys and Girls Committee - $6,000, the Community Services Committee - $5,200, International Relations Committee - $1,000, Serving Our Schools - $1,300, Young Children Priority One - $1,000, and Career & Technology - $3,000.
  • The annual Pancake Day fund raiser was held on April 26th led by Jamie Breed, President-elect. IHOP, after dropping out the previous year, came back and partnered with the Club picking up all the food costs. What a difference a year makes! The Club raised $35, 500, including $10,368 from the Silent Auction, that will be used in next year's service budget.
  • Legion of Honor awards were given to Kirby Leeson, 45 years; Glyn Hammons, 45 years; Keith Garner, 40 years; Dennis Laster, 35 years; John Snapp, Ken Poynor, and Mike Casey, 30 years; and Rosanna Herndon, 25 years.
  • Kiwanian of the Year recognition was presented to Charles Kirkpatrick and the Bailey Choate award was presented to Bill Hoogstra.

Copyright © 2006 - The Kiwanis Club of Abilene. All Rights Reserved.
bottom page footer