Kiwanis Motto: Serving the Children of the World
arrow Home
arrow Kiwanigram
arrow Officers
arrow Committees
arrow Members
arrow Club Directory
arrow Club History
arrow Eliminate Project
arrow Eliminate Video
arrow Links
arrow Calendar
arrow Contact Us
arrow Facebook Page
arrow Photo Page
arrow Forms & Reports
arrow TX-OK District
arrow Pancake Day '17
arrow One Day Video
left-hand menu
C L U B     O F F I C E R S
Randy Williams
Mark Hoover
David Bacon
Jamie Breed
Will Smith
Charles Kirkpatrick
Ricki Brown
Faye Dodson
Henry McGinty
Kimberley Cole
President Elect
Immediate Past President
Assistant Secretary
Foundation Adviser

Tim Adcock
Christine Curtis-Carr
Pam McGrew
John Ruiz
Brice West
Marty Anderson
David Batson
Dennis Laster
Clinton Nix
Don Scargall
  • The Kiwanis Club of Abilene teamed up with Dyess We Care to build Twelve ramps in one day on Saturday November 3, 2012.
  • Past Lt. Governor Carl Lockett was honored with a Kiwanis Life-Time Membership award. Carl was recognized by the TX-OK District and Kiwanis International for his faithful service to Kiwanis.
  • Bobbie Lee Wolfe was awarded the 2012 Distinguished Citizen Award by the Boy Scouts of America and Texas Trails Council. Bobbie has two sons and four grandsons who are Eagle Scouts.
  • Dick Kincaid was presented with a Kiwanis Life Member award for outstanding service to Kiwanis and to his community.
  • Our Club Satellite took over the Coat Project from the Downtown Kiwanis Club which disbanded. Used coats are collected and a local cleaner volunteered to clean the coats which will be given to local schools for distribution to children who need them.
  • For the first time in fifteen years there was no Basketball Shootout. This was due to the fact that HSU and McMurry no longer play each other in basketball. This was very sad news since the Shootout has raised more than $50,000 for the Children's Miracle Network.
  • The club bid farewell to Lynda Fogerson who has been a member since 1999. She and her husband moved to Amarillo to be close to their children and grandchildren.
  • John Snapp, Boys and Girls Committee Chair, presented a check for $1000 to Mark Young for the Boys and Girls Club of Abilene.
  • Dennis Laster reported that the Ramp Committee built six new ramps on March 23rd. Members who participated were Kelly Jones, Bill Hoogstra, Dennis Laster, Curtis Blackburn, Gary Poyner, and Roy Dent. One ACU student, a group from Hardin-Simmons, and the Dyess We Care Team also joined in.
  • At the April 3, 2013 meeting, Division 35 Lt. Governor Kelly Jones recognized Past Lt. Governor Carl Lockett as a Distinguished Lt. Governor for the year 2011-2012. We are proud to have members like Kelly and Carl who give outstanding leadership at the Division level.
  • A group of first and second graders from Reagan Elementary School presented a musical program of patriotic songs at our May 1st meeting. Don Scargall presented Reagan Principal, Ketta Garduno, with a check in the amount of $1500.
  • In May we presented $500 Career & Technology scholarships to Lauren Bernal, Kaitlyn Leavenworth, Leandra Middleton, Jessica Roque, and Hunter Williams. We also presented $1000 Foundation Scholarships to Bethany Dempsey, Christine Musonera, Victoria Cortes, and Mary Catheryn Walker.
  • Marty Anderson was named as the Layperson of the Year for our club and also for Division 35.
  • The 64th Annual Kiwanis Club of Abilene Pancake Day was a great success. Mark Hoover, Pancake Day Chair, reported that 76 of our 97 members participated in the project this year. There were 143 volunteers helping on Pancake Day - an increase of 55 over last year. The Silent Auction produced $11,702.50 and our net revenue for the event totaled $29,091.66. This was in spite of the fact that IHOP was not a corporate sponsor this year.

Copyright © 2006 - The Kiwanis Club of Abilene. All Rights Reserved.
bottom page footer