Kiwanis Motto: Serving the Children of the World
arrow Home
arrow Kiwanigram
arrow Officers
arrow Committees
arrow Members
arrow Club Directory
arrow Club History
arrow Eliminate Project
arrow Eliminate Video
arrow Links
arrow Calendar
arrow Contact Us
arrow Facebook Page
arrow Photo Page
arrow Forms & Reports
arrow TX-OK District
arrow Pancake Day '17
arrow One Day Video
left-hand menu
C L U B     O F F I C E R S
John Dunn
Mike Singleton
Chris Carnohan
Bob Cluck
Buddy Coke
Dennis Laster
Danny Haddox
Kirby Leeson
Roy Coffman
Henry McGinty
Debbie Loving
President Elect
Immed. Past President
Assistant Secretary
Admnistrative Secretary

Jeff Goodin Marcus Anderson Jerry Spivey Van Boozer
Nancy Miller Keith Garner Hillary Moore Roy Lewis
Norman Naill Wes Speights Ken Poynor Jim Sayre
  • The new officers were inducted on October 4. Nancy Miller was inducted as the first woman Board Member.
  • Cindy Burleson and Donna Bennett gave excellent leadership to the Club's participation in the Gatlin Brothers Southwest Seniors Classic at Fairway Oaks. There were 369 people who pulled 6 hour shifts and 179 were from our club. Cindy and Donna received a $10,000 check on behalf of the club for this community project.
  • The Club donated $1,000 to the Cooper Cougars Band trip to the Rose Bowl where they have been invited to play in the New Year's Day Tournament of Roses Parade.
  • The Key Club at Cooper High is active again this year. Rene Clark, daughter of our John Clark, is one of the leaders.
  • Club membership was at 298 on Nov. 29, 1989.
  • Total pledges for the Heart Association Turkey Walk coordinated by Russell Berry was $827.50.
  • We are honoring 4 youths each month as being the Youth of the Month from the Abilene Boys Club.
  • Founder's Day was celebrated with Garold W. Johnson, District Secretary, as our speaker. Our club is 69 years old.
  • February 12 is the date of the Valentine's Banquet. Keith Garner was the recipient of the Kiwanian of the Year Award.
  • Again the club is supporting with $400 the project Graduation which is designed to help kids celebrate graduation without any trouble.
  • The 1990 Pancake Supper ticket sales Kick-off was on Mar. 7. The sales theme is centered around baseball. David Bacon is sales chairman and Wes Speights is all the teams score keeper. Marcus Anderson was top ticket seller.
  • Caroline Reeves was chosen from 35 applicants to fill the position of Administrative Secretary. She is replacing Debby Loving who is moving to Dallas after she graduates from ACU. Debbie graduates Magna Cum Laude on May 5.
  • Children's Miracle Network Telethon received $1,000 from the club on KTAB. President John Dunn made the presentation.
  • The Annual Kiwanis International Convention was held in St. Louis, MO June 24-28. Members attending from our club were Mike Singleton, Roy Coffman, Nancy Miller, Garnet Gracy, and Bailey Choate.
  • The club did not meet on July 4, because of the holiday, and the costs of the meals that would have been paid for by the club were donated to Meals on Wheels. It amounted to $1,000. The Fourth of July was celebrated with many Kiwanians serving watermelon at the Civic Center as Abilene celebrated All American City Honors along with the fourth.
  • A large group of Kiwanians volunteered and worked with the 4H Club Horse Show. Because of the fine volunteers helping with it, Abilene was able to sign a three year contract to keep the show here.
  • John Dunn announced that the board had approved our participation once again in the Senior's Golf Classic. Connell Taylor is in charge of the project this year.
  • A lot adjoining the property where the Club's Boy Scout Meeting place is located on Jackson Street has been donated to the Kiwanis Club of Abilene Foundation. This was donated by a Mrs. McDaniel who won the lot in a raffle at the West Texas Fair in 1926 and has been paying taxes on it ever since.

Copyright © 2006 - The Kiwanis Club of Abilene. All Rights Reserved.
bottom page footer