Kiwanis Motto: Serving the Children of the World
arrow Home
arrow Kiwanigram
arrow Officers
arrow Committees
arrow Members
arrow Club Directory
arrow Club History
arrow Eliminate Project
arrow Eliminate Video
arrow Links
arrow Calendar
arrow Contact Us
arrow Facebook Page
arrow Photo Page
arrow Forms & Reports
arrow TX-OK District
arrow Pancake Day '17
arrow One Day Video
left-hand menu
C L U B     O F F I C E R S
Ron Keener
H. Bedford Furr
Russell Berry
James Greer
Walter A. Pfeifer
Kirby Leeson
S. E. Pass
James H. McMillon
Henry McGinty
Nelda Pasco
President Elect
Secretary & Asst. Treasurer
Immed. Past President
Admnistrative Secretary

Ben B.Benigno Leonard Johnson Marion Bridges Charles Orren
John Emmons Norman Nail Earl Williams Jim Jennings
  • The new year started off with an Installation Banquet and Ladies Night at Briarstone Manor. Bedford Furr was the presiding officer. Lt. Gov. John Graham a member of South Abilene Club installed the officers and directors. Legion of Honor Awards were presented to 6 Kiwanians and Kirby Leeson was the Kiwanian of the Year honoree. The Kiwanis Club was asked to furnish personnel to handle parking at the LaJet Golf Classic at Fairway Oaks. Mel Coltharp, Henry McGinty and Jerome Vannoy served as Co-Chairmen. They used Henry's travel trailer complete with telephone as headquarters. A total of 90 Kiwanians donated in excess of 750 man hours. We were able to man the parking lot with 3 shifts of Kiwanians for the five day period. The club received $1546 which was placed in the community service fund.
  • Begining the first of this Kiwanis year the Kiwanigram did not have the advertising section as part of it.
  • Beginning Friday, October 29, 1982 the Kiwanis Club of Abilene began volunteer work with Meals on Wheels. The Club has been assigned Route 23 which covers the Northeast and East Abilene. Steve Hughes has volunteered to be the Project Cordinator. Bedford Furr and Jim Jennings are the first to volunteer for this service.
  • Jim Jennings, Chairman of the Goodfellow Committee, presented a $400 check to John Price and David Webb, Abilene Goodfellows Chairmen. It has been the custom for several years for our club to be the first donor to the Goodfelows.
  • Sixteen Kiwanians and 6 Kiwaniqueens came and helped write script for the Goodfellows at the First Baptist Church.
  • We gave $1000 for Special Olympics and $1300 to Girls Home.
  • President Ron writes a column in the Kiwanigram in which he comments about the activities of the various committees and Kiwanians. He is recognizing a Kiwanian of the Week in each of his Keener's Komments column.
  • The Club continues to support and provide equipment for the School Safety Patrols.
  • The three Vice Presidents are responsible for organizing the Ladies Nite Banquet on February 15. There was a Valentine atmosphere throughout the evening. John Stevens was the speaker who brought a humerous comments on "Time".
  • Bedford Furr, General Chairman of the Pancake Supper, has named Clive Pierce as the Ticket Sales Chairman. The date is Mar. 9. Tickets are $2.50. Clive Pierce sold $2430 worth. The supper went off in great style at the colisium. Gross receipts: $19,070.50. Net: $13,858.50. Walter Pfeifer developed a supper slide show.
  • The Club presented a check for $1500 to help purchase the old fire station on South 7th Street for the Day Care Center for the Elderly and a check for $1000 to Hospice of Ablene.
  • Several Kiwanians went to Austin to participate in the Grant Jones Governor for a Day.
  • The Abilene Club Membership Roundup will last thru May and on June 1 we had New Member Round Up Day. Chet Ferguson, District Membership Chairman was the speaker. We now have 270 members, 50 new this year. We are the largest Club in the District.
  • The membership was shocked to learn that our long time secretary Sid Pass is retiring effective May 28. Sid has been Club secretary for 21 years. A special recognition program was held on May 25 at which time individual members and the Board presented him with $2850 in cash and gifts.
  • Henry McGinty was chosen by the Board to become the Secretary of the Club and arranged for Nelda Pasco to be the Administrative Secretary. Darrell Wood has agreed to be the Kiwanigram Editor. We always knew that it would take 3 people to replace Sid.
  • Walter Pfeifer has put together a pictorial Directory of our Club.
  • We presented $500 as seed money for the Food Bank of Abilene.
  • Henry McGinty presented President Ron Keener with a Kiwanis Key with a red ruby for recruiting 10 new mwmbers.
  • Our good friend and great Kiwanian, Clive Pierce died on August 15. and a Memorial Foundation is being set up to honor him.
  • Our ByLaws were ammended to provide for a Nominating Committee for the Officers and Directors.

Copyright © 2006 - The Kiwanis Club of Abilene. All Rights Reserved.
bottom page footer