Kiwanis Motto: Serving the Children of the World
arrow Home
arrow Kiwanigram
arrow Officers
arrow Committees
arrow Members
arrow Club Directory
arrow Club History
arrow Eliminate Project
arrow Eliminate Video
arrow Links
arrow Calendar
arrow Contact Us
arrow Facebook Page
arrow Photo Page
arrow Forms & Reports
arrow TX-OK District
arrow Pancake Day '17
arrow One Day Video
left-hand menu

C L U B     O F F I C E R S
Van M. Boozer President
Bradford E. Helbert
President Elect
Maurice Hufstedler
J. B. Jordan, Jr.
Raymond S. McDaniel, Jr.
Kirby Leeson
S. E. Pass
Secretary & Asst. Treasurer
A. E. Fogle
Immed. Past President

Bob Bailey Robert E. Hitt Darrel Knight Larry Holmes
Charlie Orren Charles H Moser Nick Nicholson Joe T. Russey

  • The new officers for 1973-74 were installed by Lt. Gov Frank Reeves who presented Mrs Fogle and Mrs. Boozer with half dozen carnations. Lt. Gov. Reeves is a member of Greater Abilene Club. New College Professors Day was again another highlight when the club welcomed these new citizens to the city.
  • Work on the new Club in Anson is progressing with many Kiwanians working going there to meetings. Thirty five Kiwanians and wives went to the Anson Charter Night Banquet on Jan. 18 held at the 66 Sirloin Cafe.
  • The Board voted to raise the dues from $11.00 to $12.50 per month effective November 1,1973. This was necessary because of the increase in meal costs at the Windsor Hotel. The Hotel has agreed to serve lunch buffet style for a 3 week trial basis. On Dec. 1 it was decided to continue buffet indefinitely.
  • Again, D. C. Musick, Fire Chief, has polished the Kiwanis Gong.
  • Meeting on November 7th was held at lobby of the Civic Center where Texas Lt. Gov. Bill Hobby was the speaker.
  • Jack Shields, with the Highway Patrol Division, Department of Public Safety became the club's 200th member. He was inducted by Jim Jennings. This is the first time the Club's membership has reached this goal.
  • December 11, 7 o'clock, A.C.C. Student Center, Annual Ladies Night Banquet. Brad Helbert, M.C., 44 new members introduced, Legion of Honor were presented, and Bob Hitt was named as the Kiwanian of the Year. A great evening was enjoyed by 205 Kiwanians and guests.
  • Kiwanians serving on the West Texas Fair Board are: Sam Hill, President; Bob Hitt, Imm. Past Pres; Charlie Orren, Treasurer; Van Boozer, Bert Chapman, Roy Coffman, Glenn Beard, J. B. Jordan, Jr., Bynam Myers, George Ervin, and Nib Shaw.
  • The Kiwanis Club of Abilene is involved in the sponsoring a new club in San Pablo City, Philippines. This project is handled through the International Relations Committee and Kiwanis International. Our club paid $145 for new club's banner, gong, gavel, secretary's kit, and a set of international flags.
  • Chuck Moser Day was a glad and sad day at the regular meeting. Chuck was recognized for the outstanding leadership he has given to Abilene and to the Club. He was honored as we are bidding him Farewell as he moves to A & M at Bryan-College Station.
  • Roy Coffman, Pancake Supper Ticket Sales Chairman, kicked off the Pancake Supper activity on Mar. 6. Raymond McDaniel, Jr is the General Chairman. Tickets are $1.00. "Ask Me" buttons were issued. The Hotel will provide a steak dinner for all who sell 100 tickets. Tickets are being sold at M-System, Super-Duper and at all banks. Jerry Carter, finance chairman reported that 5250 plates were served at the Coliseum. 115 Kiwanians reported for work. Gross income is $7573.75. Twenty-four sold 100 or more tickets. Net profit $5905.78.
  • Exchange Students from Wyandotte, Michigan were our guests Mar.27.
  • Sid Pass slipped on the ice on Jan. 12 and became a casualty of the ice storm and is in Cox Hospital. He spent 10 days there.
  • Cost for printing the Kiwanigram has been increased from $25 per week to $27.50 for 275 copies.
  • Ed Wishcamper announced on May 7, the formation of the Kiwanis Club of Abilene Foundation for the purpose of building the Minter Park in downtown Abilene on the site of the old Queen Theater. Nib Shaw is the fund raiser for $40,000. The Club donated $2000. Total pledged at end of Kiwanis year 73-74, $18,412.70.
  • Division 12 has been officially divided up and Division 35 has been created. The reasons for this action is distances and need for smaller divisions. Marvin Sapaugh will be the new Lt. Gov for Division 35. This Division includes clubs in Abilene, Sweetwater, and Anson. Thy is action took place in Anson, May 16, 1974.
  • A club meeting in the form of a Prayer Breakfast was held at the Abilene Civic Center and took the place of the regular meeting. This was under the direction of Spiritual Aims Committee.
  • International Convention was held in Denver, June 22-26 with Van Boozer, Brad Helbert, J.B. Jordan, Walter Ott, Sam Hill and Bert Chapman attending.
  • Tex-Okla Dist Convention at Oklahoma City, Aug.8-10.

Copyright © 2006 - The Kiwanis Club of Abilene. All Rights Reserved.
bottom page footer